User's Guide

Daily Operation >> Daily Workflow >> Core Steps >> Post Invoices

Invoicing is the process of finalizing a client's charges for some time period and writing the amount due to their ledger. Creating invoices is called "posting" invoices, typically.

The term "invoice" applies both to owners and volume clients, but owners use the Check Out process, while volume clients use Financial >> Post Invoices. The main reason for the difference is that volume client invoices often span several days or weeks of charges, but owners typically do all their business with the clinic in a one- or two-day cycle. There's usually no reason to keep an owner invoice open indefinitely, but the opposite tends to be true for volume clients. (However, there's nothing wrong with posting volume client invoices every day.)

Where to Start

In order to post a volume client invoice, the client must have some charges on patients that are checked in for current or past appointments. You can (and should) enter charges in the future where appropriate, but future charges or those on patients who didn't check in cannot be posted.

You create charges for volume clients in two ways:

  • manually, by using the bill to feature on the appointment patient page,

  • or automatically, using the Service Profile feature.

When there are volume client charges to post, they look like this on the appointment patient page. They are indented underneath the service being billed. In this example, there's a $45 charge to a PetSmart Charities grant on a Cat Spay service.

Note that a single service may have multiple payers. In this example, a Dog Spay service has been billed to two different volume clients. This will result in two different invoices when posted. Remember, an invoice always applies to a single client--it's not possible to combine charges from different clients on one invoice.

Posting

Once you have some charges entered as describe above, you're ready to post invoices.

  1. Go to Financial >> Post Invoices.

  2. In the View option, select Actual. (It's already chosen by default.)

    Use the Projected option when you want to look at future charges without posting.

  3. If desired, enter min and max service dates to include. Leave blank to include all service dates. (Click Refresh if you change the min or max dates.)

  4. You have some choices on how to proceed:

    • You can post invoices one at a time by clicking Post As-is on the far right.

    • If you need to select or remove specific patients from the invoice, click Preview/Edit. Make your selections there, then click Post at the bottom of that page.

    • Click Post and Email X Invoices at the bottom to post all invoices as-is at once.

      Go to the client's home page to review the email settings for invoices. If the client has no email address, then nothing is emailed.

Line Items

Line Items let you add charges to an invoice that are not patient-related, such as fuel charges for a transport or other administrative overhead. You can also use line items to apply a discount to an invoice. If you do add credit (negative) line items, take care not to cause the invoice to be negative, or it won't post. For example, if the patient charges are $100, but you've added a credit line item of $101, the net invoice amount is ($1). Because it's negative, it won't post.

To edit line items, click the dollar link in the Line Item Charges column.

Rollbacks

After you post an invoice, the charges on it become read-only. If you need to make a correction or change to an invoice, you must first rollback or undo the invoice. It is not possible to make a change to an invoice once posted.

When you rollback an invoice, the charges on it become editable again, and a log entry is written that an invoice was rolled back. You post it again the same way you posted it the first time. It will get a new number, but the number it replaces will be added to the description to help clients track what happened to a prior version of an invoice.

Note that only the most recently rolled back invoice number is tracked, so if you rollback and re-post the same invoice more than once, the chain of replaced invoice numbers will be lost.

Some clinics disable rollbacks because they can lead to problems in bookkeeping outside of HS. To address the need to make corrections to invoices, the refund feature is available.

Refunds

Use the invoice refund feature to make corrections on specific lines of an invoice. The original invoice is left unchanged, but the items you choose to refund, along with comments you might choose to enter, are noted on the invoice, and a refund transaction is created in the client's ledger.

Transfers

Use the invoice transfer feature to move an invoice or some portion of it to another client. There are two scenarios where you might find this useful.

  • Whole Amount The invoice was posted for the wrong client, so the entire invoice must be moved to another client.

  • Partial A volume client has an arrangement with another group in which the other group agrees to pay part of an invoice. A partial transfer is done for an amount agreed upon.

    In this case, the original client receives a credit adjustment for the amount of the transfer, and the transfer recipient has a debit adjustment created. The original invoice is left unchanged.